Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Instagram Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Uradale Yarns

Makkin in Shaetlan 2023

$58.00

Uradale Yarns

Makkin in Shaetlan 2023

$58.00

Sold out

Learn to knit Fair Isle with Uradale Yarns Fairy Cowl

In this two-part course, learn to knit Fair Isle with the Fairy Cowl as you learn about the unique history and development of Shaetlan, the language that pre-dates English in Shetland and which is still evident in the knitting expressions of Shetland knitters. You will also get to know more about Uradale Farm and Uradale Yarns. Your teachers for the course are Viveka Velupillai of Uradale Farm and Anne Frost, host of the I Thought I Knew How podcast.

The webinar is divided up in two sessions:

March 18: Anne gets you started on the project and Viveka tells you more about the ethos behind Uradale Farm and Uradale Yarns.

March 25: Anne guides you through the basics of Fair Isle knitting as Viveka gives a lecture on the history and knitting language of Shaetlan.

Both at 11am PDT / 2pm EDT / 6pm BST (UK)

Spaces are limited for these webinars, and those who purchase the kit will need time for their yarn to arrive. We encourage participants to book as soon as possible.

There are three options for tickets:

  1. Ticket + pattern for Fairy Cowl 
  2. Ticket + entire kit for Fairy Cowl (green/purple colourway). (Notice that this option requires shipping of the yarn.)
  3. Ticket + entire kit for Fairy Cowl (blue/red colourway). (Notice that this option requires shipping of the yarn.)