Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Instagram Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Uradale Yarns

SWW 2021: Makkin in Shetland dialect

£25.00

Uradale Yarns

SWW 2021: Makkin in Shetland dialect

£25.00

Sold out

Learn to knit Fair Isle at Uradale Farm

In this two-part course, learn to knit Fair Isle with the Autumn Wrist Warmers especially designed by Hilly van der Sluis (@hillyvandersluis on Instagram). You will learn about the unique history and development of Shetland dialect, which is still evident in the knitting expressions of Shetland knitters. You will also get to know more about Uradale Farm and Uradale Yarns. Your teachers for the course are Viveka Velupillai of Uradale Farm and Anne Frost, host of the I Thought I Knew How podcast.

Suitable for beginners.

The webinar is divided up in two sessions of two hours each:

September 27 (Part I): Anne gets you started on the project and Viveka gives a lecture on the knitting terms in Shetland dialect.

September 30 (Part II): Anne guides you through the basics of Fair Isle knitting as Viveka tells you more about the ethos behind Uradale Farm and Uradale Yarns.

Both at 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST (UK)

Spaces are limited for these webinars, and those who purchase the kit will need time for their yarn to arrive. We encourage participants to book as soon as possible.

There are two options for tickets:

  1. Ticket + pattern for Autumn Wrist Warmers
  2. Ticket + entire kit for Autumn Wrist Warmers. (Notice that this option requires shipping of the yarn. The yarn in the kit will give two pairs of wrist warmers.)