Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Instagram Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Uradale Yarns

SWW 2021: Living and dyeing with the environment

£25.00

Uradale Yarns

SWW 2021: Living and dyeing with the environment

£25.00

Learn to plant dye on organic Shetland wool

In this online course you will learn about the magic qualities of the Elder and the Nettle and how to use them to naturally dye yarn. We will explore the effect of using the same dye on different dye bases by dyeing onto Uradale Yarns natural white, light fawn and medium fawn Organic Native Shetland yarn, and the effect of adding iron to the dye lot. The end result will be twelve different beautiful shades of naturally dyed yarn for you to make beautiful creations with.

You will also get to know more about Uradale Farm and Uradale Yarns.

Your teachers for the course are Viveka Velupillai of Uradale Farm and Maria Muscarella of Ninja Chickens.

Suitable for beginners.

3 hour course.

Notice that you will have to provide your own supplies for the dyeing. These kits will only supply handouts or  handouts + yarn.

The same class is given twice:

September 26 at 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 4 pm BST (UK).

September 29 at 10 am PDT / 1 pm EDT / 6 pm BST (UK)

Spaces are limited for these online classes, and those who purchase the kit will need time for their yarn to arrive. We encourage participants to book as soon as possible.

There are two options for tickets:

  1. Ticket + Natural dyeing 101 handouts.
  2. Ticket + Natural dyeing 101 handouts + yarn to dye on: 4x 25g JW Flukkra (natural white), 4x 25g JW Aetmeal (light fawn) and 4x 25g JW Beremeal (mid fawn). (Notice that this option requires shipping of the yarn.)