Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Instagram Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Uradale Yarns

Makkin in Shetland dialect

£25.00

Uradale Yarns

Makkin in Shetland dialect

£25.00

Sold out

Learn to knit Fair Isle with Uradale Yarns Fairy Cowl

In this two-part course, learn to knit Fair Isle with the Fairy Cowl as you learn about the unique history and development of Shetland dialect, which is still evident in the knitting expressions of Shetland knitters. You will also get to know more about Uradale Farm and Uradale Yarns. Your teachers for the course are Viveka Velupillai of Uradale Farm and Anne Frost, host of the I Thought I Knew How podcast.

The webinar is divided up in two sessions:

June 12: Anne gets you started on the project and Viveka gives a lecture on the knitting terms in Shetland dialect.

June 19: Anne guides you through the basics of Fair Isle knitting as Viveka tells you more about the ethos behind Uradale Farm and Uradale Yarns.

Both at 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST (UK)

Spaces are limited for these webinars, and those who purchase the kit will need time for their yarn to arrive. We encourage participants to book as soon as possible.

There are two options for tickets:

  1. Ticket + pattern for Fairy Cowl
  2. Ticket + entire kit for Fairy Cowl. (Notice that this option requires shipping of the yarn.)